Department of Physics

Department of Physics

Department of Physics

Department of Physics

Professor (Dr.) Yatramohan Jana

Head of the Department


The Department of Physics, one of the oldest departments of the University of Kalyani, was established in 1961. The Department of Physics offers postgraduate courses leading to M. Sc. and Ph.D. degrees.

The department is running the semester system from this academic year 2008. The syllabus has been reframed (2012) and (2017), in such a manner so that teaching will be beneficial to the students for research in future either in our department or in other Institutes. Continuous evaluation of the students will be done and several advanced and contemporary topics have been introduced.

Department of Physics is going to implement credit system in the curriculum from the academic year 2014-15.Department has increased the M.Sc. student intake to 67.Department has introduced Pre Ph.D. course work curriculum since 2010.

The Department has a dedicated multi-disciplinary faculty comprising 3 Professors and 5 Assistant Professor. There is a supporting staff of 2 technical and 3 administrative personnel. With such a high level of diverse research interests over 70 students have so far successfully completed their Ph.D. programme in different aspects of Physical Science. At present, approximately 35 research scholars are pursuing their Ph.D. degree.The teaching and research programme of the School has received recognition from the UGC and DST, who have provided funds under their FIST-(level 0) (2001-04), SAP-1 (2002-2007) and FIST level-1(2013-2018) programme respectively.

recognition from the UGC and DST, who have provided funds under their FIST-(level 0) (2001-04), SAP-1 (2002-2007) and FIST level-1(2013-2017) programme respectively.

Programmes offered

Sl. No. Programme Duration Intake capacity Admission criteria
1 MSc Two Years
2 Ph.D

Faculty Profile(Alphabetical Order)

Nanda Kumar Ghosh
Nanda Kumar Ghosh Click here for details
SUBHRATANU BHATTACHARYA Click here for details
Tapas Pal Majumder
Tapas Pal Majumder Click here for details
Yatramohan Jana
Yatramohan Jana Click here for details
Jyoti Prasad Saha
Jyoti Prasad Saha Click here for details
Arabinda Karmakar
Arabinda Karmakar Click here for details
Debasis Mitra
Debasis Mitra Click here for details

Department Details

  •     Nuclear & Elementary Particle Physics
  •     Solid State Physics
  •     Electronics
  • Experimental and theoretical Condensed Matter Physics including Optical, Electrical, Magnetic Materials and Nanocomposites
  • Experimental Atomic and molecular Physics
  • Theoretical Statistical Mechanics, Nuclear and Particle Physics, Phenomenology, Gravitation and cosmology
  • Experimental Radio Astrophysics

Presently the department is running with a well-equipped LAN based computational facilities and a dedicated computer center for research scholars and student has also been established.
Department of Physics is transforming the M.Sc. classrooms from the chalkboard of the traditional classroom toE-classroomswhere the lecture will be delivered by power point presentation along with the facility of instant online demonstration of different critical topic via internet. To set up this facility the existing LAN based networking system of the department already transformed into Wi-Fi networking partially along with some other facilities.

The research activities of the School are notionally divided into following four areas related to Physical Sciences. (For details please visit faculty profiles)

  • Experimental Condensed Matter Physics and Materials science
  • Theoretical Physics
  • Experimental Radio Physics
  • Experimental Atomic and molecular Physics

The Department of Physics has published widely in leading national and international research journals and books, besides publishing many books. Many faculty members serve on editorial boards of well-known international journals. Academic activities of the faculty have been recognized both nationally and internationally, and several of them are recipients of significant awards and fellowships of national and international Science Academies and organizations.

In last five years the faculty members of the department have been running/completed several major projects funded by DST, CSIR, UGC. Five (5) experimental Condensed Matter/Materials Science laboratories and one theoretical physics laboratory have been set up which are running successfully in pursuit of high quality research.

The Department has established an excremental materials science laboratory under DST-FIST programme with modern characterization facilities. Also, under this program, an updated computer facility to cater the needs of the students of Post-graduation, research scholars and teachers will be established.

Department of Physics has organized several national and international conferences. A 7 days Short Term Training Course on-Nanotechnology entitled “An Interdisciplinary Approach in Characterization & Applications of Nanostructured Materials and Related IPR Issues” from 1st to 8th August 2018 was organized

Name of the Investigator  Funding Agency  Amount Sanctioned 
(Rs. lakhs)
Prof. T. PalMajumder 01 (DST) 15.65 2010-2013
Prof. Y. M. Jana 03 (UGC, DAE-CSR Indore, DST) 50.00 2012-2015, 2018-21, 2019-2022
Dr. S. Bhattacharya 03 (DST, CSIR) 71.74

2010-2013, 2015-2018

Dr. S.Pal 03 (DST, UGC DAE CSR Indore, UGC DAE CSR Mumbai) 25.50

2011-2014, 2016-2019, 2018-2020

Dr. A.Karmakar 01 (UGC) 6.00



Executive Summary of UGC sponsored Major Research Project (F. No. 41-886/2012 (SR), 26.07.2012) of Dr. Yatramohan Jana. Click here

  • 14 inch Celestron Telescope
  • Thin Film Deposition Unit (Hind High Vac)
  • Surface conductivity measurement (Keithley)
  • Dielectric spectroscopy measurement (HP, Hioki)
  • Mossbour spectroscopy
  • High speed Centrifugator
  • Temperature dependent Magnetic measurement
  • Programmable Furnace (up to 1600 degree C).
  • UV-VIS-NIR Spectrophotometer (Shimadzu-UV 3600 )
  • Ultra-pure water purifier system (Sartorious, Arium)
  • Fluorescence spectrometer (Photon Technology, QM-40)
  • FT-IRwith Diamond ATR(IR Affinity-1)
  • X-Ray Diffractometer (Rigaku, Miniflex 600)
  • Simultaneous DSC-TGA (NETZSCH, STA-449)
  • Vibrating sample magnetometer (Cryogenic)
  • High temperature arc furnace (up to 3000 0C ) (Vacuum Technology)